Cinnamon Rolls made from Aristan Canola Oil Dough

 0220010757.jpg

My house smells like Cinnabon right now-only because I made 48 cinnamon rolls using Artisan bread dough in 5 minutes. I love this cookbook-can’t you tell? I first started freezer cooking Pioneer Woman’s cinnamon rolls, which are excellent. However, I wanted to use white whole wheat flour and I didn’t get quite a good rise as what I wanted. I’ve been doing a lot of Artisan dough recipes and I think I’ve mastered the cinnamon rolls using a modified version of the olive oil dough.

I replaced the olive oil with canola oil and I’m still using whole wheat flour. For those of you who are new to whole wheat baking, this is the perfect recipe using a white whole wheat flour blend. You can substitute half white whole wheat and half unbleached all-purpose in this recipe, but I chose to use Eagle Mills unbleached flour because the whole wheat’s already been mixed in for you. It’s a time saver and it’s a great way to introduce your family to whole wheat baking.

0220011658.jpg I found this flour from Ingles.

I start by making the 5 minute dough by mixing the ingredients in a plastic shoebox. I allow it to set at room temperature for 2 hours and then refrigerate the dough until it’s ready to use. Ding! My cinnamon roll lover son wants rolls, so the dough comes out. Usually the dough has to sit at room temperature for 90 minutes (yes, 1 1/2 hour to get a good rise), but a found a time-saving trick. I roll out the dough and allow it to sit for 15 minutes. Because the dough is laying flat and not in a ball, it loses the chill faster!  I love it because I can make cinnamon rolls so much quicker.

0221011249.jpg

I tried this method with one dough portion first and then I decided to go ahead and make the other three portions the following day so I could freeze these.  The method is the same whether you decide to make a dozen or 48 rolls (all four portions of dough). 

0221011251.jpg I do not cut on my silpat mat, I moved the dough log to my chopping board. I used my silpat, a flimsy plastic chopping board and a large wooded chopping board for the three portions of dough to rest for 15 minutes. Then I rolled into a log and sliced.

Sprinkle 1-2 teaspoons on the dough and drizzle with honey or raw sugar or white sugar if you must. I’m trying to stick with honey and raw sugar as much as possible. Roll up the dough in a log and pinch the seam closed. Cut into rolls with a sharp knife, don’t worry if they are sticky. You can dip you knife blade in flour each time to help with this. Place each portion of dough in one 9×13 pan-don’t overcrowd because they do rise some. I actually preferred mine closer to together with first batch because they were softer because they were touching-if you spread them out as I did below they are lightly toasted on all sides instead of on top only and they bake a little quicker-so choose the method you like.

0221011316.jpg

Bake 20 -25 minutes if you are baking more than two pans. One pan bakes about 15-20 minutes, but why bake one if you’re going to all the trouble of flour, honey, cinnamon (all messy) and electricity? Just bake them all at once, cool and freeze for a convenient breakfast or breakfast bar for dinner.

Make sure you allow them cool completely for an hour on a cooling rack before you freeze in a gallon size freezer bag (which can be reused) for future rolls.

0221011434.jpg

If you’re wondering where the icing is, I make mine on demand. I use a small ramekin and put about 1/2 cup of powdered sugar and a splash of milk and vanilla extract and make a thick consistency. Because I top it with icing, I feel I can use less sugar in the dough (remember I used honey). It works for us, but you do what works for your family.

Printable Canola Oil Dough for cinnamon rolls, cinnamon bread, sandwich bread-you name it. Recipe linked to Tasty Tuesday and It’s a Keeper

Have you ever made more than one pan of cinnamon rolls and frozen them?

About brownjackie624
I'm a "Mom on a Mission for Christ" providing food for my family while opening my arms to the poor and needy. I have a passion for equipping others to be on mission with me through freezer cooking tutorials, teaching, speaking and writing. Join a community of women who love sharing the love of God by visiting http://www.momonamission.me

2 Responses to Cinnamon Rolls made from Aristan Canola Oil Dough

  1. Jennifer says:

    Works for Me Tip: If the dough is sticky or not try using dental floss to cut right through and make quick even cuts. I do enjoy pioneer woman’s cinnamon rolls. Are these nice, soft, and airy if baked close together?

    • I agree with the floss, but I need to buy a designated unflavored pkg just for cinnamon rolls.I don’t know if I would call them fluffy and airy, because I’ve never made pioneer’s with straight all-purpose flour; I always attempt with some white whole wheat which makes them a little heavier, but these were not dense. They may or may not rise more if you allow them to set longer than 15 minutes like I did. But I did like them better baked closer together. Let me know what you think compared to pioneer recipe, if you try. We’re finally going full weeks to school, how about you?

Leave a comment