Banana Nut Whole Wheat Waffles

In a previous post about the frugality of a breakfast bar for dinner, I told you we rotate our carbohydrate items, like pancakes, waffles, muffins and cinnamon rolls. This is one of our favorites to rotate on the bar. It’s easy, it’s cheap and it’s healthy, especially if you add fresh fruit to the batter or on top.

I made these waffles with ripe bananas to sneak in more nutrition. I also always cook and bake with my favorite flour, King Arthur White whole wheat flour. If you are new to baking with whole wheat, go now and buy this type of flour made with the white whole wheat kernel. The usual whole wheat you are used to is more grainy and results in heavy products. We have used this flour for years and my kids never complain. In fact, I used all 100 % white whole wheat flour in this recipe. If you are new to baking with ww, try substituting half the flour with an UNBLEACHED all purpose flour. Gold Medal and Pillsbury carries an unbleached version. This is an easy healthy switch for the new year.

I first mash the bananas with the mixer beater (because it’s faster) on medium high speed. I like for it to be as whipped as possible, so use ripe bananas or overripe works too.  I call these my banana nut waffles because we sprinkle walnuts on top and use 100% real maple syrup. I put the syrup on the side so it doesn’t soak into the waffles. Plus, the kids like to dip their waffles sticks into it. This is a cost effective way to serve and afford real maple syrup. We buy ours at SAMS.  I use a pizza wheel to cut the waffles sticks and squares for my two-year old. He gets waffle dippers.

We have an iron that makes four waffles. Each waffle holds almost 1/2 cup batter. I use a measuring cup to pour the batter more easily. When I reach the bottom of the bowl, I use a rubber scraper to make another waffle (just when you thought you didn’t have enough). I highly suggest buying a quad waffle iron because you can make a lot at one time and freeze the extra!

I double the following recipe and freeze the extra for our next breakfast bar or for easy waffle sticks in the morning. These can go directly in the toaster on thaw mode and then retoast on medium high (check your adjustments) OR you can thaw in the refrigerator and toast normally as you would an Eggo waffle or bread.

2 bananas, mashed

2 cups flour (I use the King Arthur)

1 Tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

2 cups milk (reduce to 1 3/4 if you are not using ww flour)

1/3 cup vegetable oil

2 eggs

I mash 2 bananas with my mixer paddle and then proceed add the dry on top.  Combine dry ingredients and mix with a whisk (I use my kitchen aid mixer bowl).  Stir together milk, oil and eggs in a separate bowl (I use my large 4 cup glass measuring bowl).  Gradually add milk mixture to the dry ingredients. Stir until just blended (I use the stir mode on my mixer). Pour batter onto waffle iron (I use 1/2 cup measuring cup) and leave it in the bowl to prevent a mess.  Serve with fresh fruit and whipped topping, real maple syrup and walnuts or any way you like it. Enjoy!

After I’ve made the entire two batches (approximately 24 waffles), I serve them to my family and allow the rest to cool on a cooling rack. Once they are completely cool to the touch, I bag them in a gallon size bag which holds 12 waffles. Do I reuse my waffles bag? Yes, I store them in the freezer for the next batch).  You can also freeze them in a quart size bag which holds about 5 waffles. They tend to get mashed more. If you have a smaller family and you want single serve waffles, you must partially freeze them for 1 hour on the cooling rack and remember to bag them when they are done. You can par-freeze them longer, but don’t forget them! A timer is helpful if you are forgetful. I also add this item to my freezer inventory sheet so I know what convenience breakfast items we have.

Enjoy the convenience of waffles for breakfast or dinner or anytime. They are healthier than Eggos so go ahead and make a peanut butter and banana sandwich with them.  Top them with fresh fruit and whipped cream for a healthy snack. 

Have you ever tried making homemade waffles? Or does your family like breakfast for dinner?

About brownjackie624
I'm a "Mom on a Mission for Christ" providing food for my family while opening my arms to the poor and needy. I have a passion for equipping others to be on mission with me through freezer cooking tutorials, teaching, speaking and writing. Join a community of women who love sharing the love of God by visiting http://www.momonamission.me

One Response to Banana Nut Whole Wheat Waffles

  1. jan says:

    Just swung by from Beauty and Bedlam … I’m definitely going to look for that flour … I’ve tried to incorporate whole wheat flour in to baking but never have good, tasty results … NOT to mention, I’ve got a small bunch of bananas that were going to be put in the freezer but now think I’ll make these waffles tomorrow morning! Thanks!

Leave a comment