Freezer Baking 47 Cinnamon Rolls

Am I obsessed with baking? You might think so if you heard me say I made 47 cinnamon rolls for my family. In reality, that’s just equivalent to a little under 6 cans of pillsbury rolls. There that seems much better, I made six cans of  homemade rolls instead of buying six cans. How? I use the Pioneer Woman’s cinnamon rolls recipe.

Here’ my pictures to motivate you and then take a look at hers and you just might tackle making some. Remember it doesn’t take any longer (except baking) to make one batch verses this triple batch (her recipe already makes 40-50 rolls) but you could halve the recipe, but WHY? Think of the many rolls you will have in the future.

Notice I had two pieces of foil which were the Reynolds nonstick kind and they are awaiting a pan when the other two are finished. I have one silpat which also awaits a pan. Foil or parchment paper is handy because you don’t have to wash the pan when you’re done (another time saver).

UPDATE: don’t use a baking stone without a rim like I did and DO use a rimmed cookie sheet because the butter begins to melt down in your oven. My word of wisdom, stick with round pans or 9×13 rimmed pans so you don’t have to clean your oven like I’m going to have to. My oven needed cleaning anyway and I’m going to do it with baking soda and water overnight. It’s chemical free and you can wipe it up in the morning, providing you write yourself a note.

My freezer agenda went like this. Day one, I made the dough and refrigerated after the first rise. Day two, I rolled out the dough and made the rolls and you saw the less than perfect pictures, but that’s what identifies homemade. For the record, I only used 2 sticks of butter (she calls for four) and I used less sugar and it all worked out. I making simple frosting with powdered sugar and milk only. She calls for coffee and maple flavoring.

I’m going to go ahead and bake all of mine and freeze the extra for future snacks and breakfasts. I might have some frosted and some not depending on how much I make. Just remember this is a freezer recipe and it’s good for you because it’s homemade without preservatives (forget the sugar and butter, okay).

Now my house is going to smell full of cinnamon just in time for my son to come home after school. He’s going to be surprised because he LOVES cinnamon rolls and they are going to be hot and gooey at 2:45 p.m.

Here’s pioneer woman’s freezing tips/ideas:

 Freezing Rolls: When?

I’m often asked when in the process the cinnamon rolls can be frozen.

The answer is…anytime!

* You can freeze the rolls, unrisen, in the pan. Cover them tightly with both plastic wrap and aluminum foil. Then you’ll just need to remove them, allow them to thaw and rise, and continue the baking and icing process.

* You can freeze the rolls, baked but unfrosted. Later, you can thaw them out, warm them for just a few minutes in the oven, and ice them while warm.

* OR you can freeze the rolls completely iced and finished. Just allow them to cool, then cover with plastic wrap and foil. This is how I normally freeze them and they turn out just fine.

source: thepioneerwoman

Happy fall and consider making these for a neighbor, teacher or friend. If you use her recipe, you’ll have plenty to give away.

About brownjackie624
I'm a "Mom on a Mission for Christ" providing food for my family while opening my arms to the poor and needy. I have a passion for equipping others to be on mission with me through freezer cooking tutorials, teaching, speaking and writing. Join a community of women who love sharing the love of God by visiting http://www.momonamission.me

One Response to Freezer Baking 47 Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Pingback: Chewy Granola Bars-Freezer Snack « Mom on a Mission

Leave a Reply

