Meatball Calzones

There’s nothing like hot fresh pizza once a week, but how about a twist and make a calzone dipped in marinara? How about another variation, use homemade meatballs (or store-bought) and make your own.

I used my 100% Artisan white whole wheat dough (which I make in 5 minutes, stir and refrigerate). Check it out here. Or you can use Pillsbury dough crust in the refrigerated section of the store.

Because I freezer cook, I have the meatballs already cooked in my freezer.  I just thaw the night before and I’ve stirred the dough the day before.   I came up with this whole foods recipe.

I also make my pizza sauce ahead of time and freeze, but store-bought marinara or pizza sauce works too.

Nothing, but goodness inside these sweeties.

I begin by rolling the dough into a 9×13 rectangle (notice mines not perfect).

 

Then I cut the dough into rectangles with a pizza wheel. I just love this thing because it’s not just for pizza (waffles and sandwiches)

I spread a spoonful of ricotta cheese on the dough and then cut up meatballs (I just cut them into small pieces) as you see. I cut the tip of my thawed pizza sauce freezer bag and squeeze a small amount of sauce on top and sprinkle some mozzarella cheese on top of that.

 

Then I gently fold over the opposite side of the rectangle stretching as necessary. Once it’s folded over, you take a kitchen fork and press the edges together. Isn’t that fun?

I pick these beauties up and put them on top of my prepared pan/stone dusted with cornmeal (for easier removal). Bake at 450 for 15ish minutes and brush them with melted butter and sprinkle garlic salt on top if you like (that’s what I did).  Serve hot with additional marinara. 

Warning: These are very hot. Be careful with children. I advise cutting into triangles with a pizza wheel and allow it to cool to the touch. You don’t want to burn those babies!

I made a double batch and the others cooled on the cooling rack until they were cool to the touch. I labeled quart size freezer bags and slid our extras into them for future lunches or perhaps a quick dinner. I defrosted one from the frozen state and it required about 2 minutes on 30% power and then I microwaved on high for about 1 1/2 minutes. If I know David needs a lunch the next day, I’ll throw a bag in the fridge the night before for the next day.

This recipe idea is very versatile with ham and cheese, pepperoni and cheese, shredded chicken and cheese, spinach and don’t forget to add veges (use ones that don’t produce a lot of water content-chop finely so they will cook).

My favorite was from Mellow Mushroom in college. They were huge and so good, but these taste good and healthy for you. Have you ever had a calzone? It’s basically a hot-pocket. Go down the freezer section and check out the varities and try making your own with these easy ideas.

About brownjackie624
I'm a "Mom on a Mission for Christ" providing food for my family while opening my arms to the poor and needy. I have a passion for equipping others to be on mission with me through freezer cooking tutorials, teaching, speaking and writing. Join a community of women who love sharing the love of God by visiting http://www.momonamission.me

Leave a comment