Freezing Homemade Biscuits made with Sour Cream

FWD: David Brown  :)

I know we all love a hot, delicious Cracker Barrel biscuit, but we can’t have one everyday. Or can we? Take your favorite biscuit recipe and double your next batch like I do. I used light sour cream in this recipe and baked them, cooled them completely and bagged them for my next breakfast or breakfast for dinner meal. These are just like Pillsbury frozen biscuits only better because they are made without preservatives.

Stick with your own family recipe or try mine. This is the only recipe that I use white flour because hubbie gets biscuits infrequently and I like to treat him with the REAL thing. Sometimes I’ll use butter instead of shortening. I have friends who use Palm shortening and coconut oil, but like I said, go with what your family is used to and double and freeze extra like I do. It’s a convenience biscuit to make your own bacon, egg and cheese or sausage and egg biscuit in a flash. Or try wrapping some of these individually for your own Jimmy Dean convenience biscuit.

0205010848.jpg

I use White Lily unbleached flou for this recipe. A savings tip is to wait until the sour cream goes BOGOF and use a coupon to get it for loose change and then try this recipe;) They taste much better knowing you only paid pennies for a tub of sour cream, you’re using in biscuits.  Google Breakstones for a coupon link or try their facebook.

You can reheat the thawed biscuits in the microwave for a soft texture or in the oven wrapped in foil. I like to save my energy and only reheat breads if I have a casserole baking. Plus it saves time reheating them in the microwave.

Sour Cream Biscuits

4 cups White Lily Unbleached Self-Rising flour

1-16oz. container sour cream, I use light sour cream

Heat oven to 450. Blend in enough sour cream with a fork or your hands until the dough leaves sides of bowl.  Add a splash of milk if it is too dry.  Turn dough onto lightly floured surface. Gently knead 2 to 3 times. Roll out dough to 1/2 or 3/4 inch (if you like it Cracker Barrel style). Cut using a floured 2 or 3-inch biscuit cutter. I’m really professional and use my kid’s plastic drinking cup. Place on a baking sheet with sides touching for soft and 1-inch apart for crisp sides. Bake about 8-10 minutes depending on whether you doubled this recipe, 10-12 minutes if you make a double batch like I do.

P.S. I learned how to make my first homemade biscuits when I was 5 or 6, sitting on a stool, with my mom. Thanks for teaching me, Mom! Do you have a childhood memory when you learned to make something in the kitchen?

About brownjackie624
I'm a "Mom on a Mission for Christ" providing food for my family while opening my arms to the poor and needy. I have a passion for equipping others to be on mission with me through freezer cooking tutorials, teaching, speaking and writing. Join a community of women who love sharing the love of God by visiting http://www.momonamission.me

Leave a Reply

