Free At Last

Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free. John 8:21

 

My husband’s tug of war match ended with a tearful hug. It began with a startling cry, “Let me out of here!” (For the record, he was not drying his hair). He was in that small potty room behind him.

 “Turn the doorknob”, Daddy replied.  Frantically, my two year-old my son shook it with no luck and panicked until he heard a calm voice with a plan. His fear lessened.  The daddy located a screwdriver and hammer and removed the door from its hinges and set him free.

I wonder what went through his two-year old mind as he waited. My husband said he felt our son’s relief when his arms flew around his neck.

I felt restricted when my joy was elsewhere. When I became a stay-at-home mom, our finances became tight. My husband and God put a constraint on my spending habits. New clothes and newer cars, the latest technology and club memberships were not an option.

The first few years, I focused on self-pity. Notice the word “self”. The attention was on me. I was not trusting in God’s provision. During my eight years as a stay-at-home mom, I have learned the secret of contentment. It comes from the heart. This has been my fullest year so far. I’ve learned whether we have $1000 or $10 in our account, to trust God. He will provide all our needs, and not necessarily our wants.

Because God is good and gracious, He grants our needs and many wants. We are a family of six relying on His wisdom for living on a teacher’s salary. He has allowed me to share our frugality through a freezer cooking ministry at church.

 “I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. Philippians 4: 11-12.  His truth has set me free.  I do not desire the Jones’ house, car or magnificent décor. I am content being a stay-at-home mom sharing Christ’s love.

How about you? Are you wallowing in self-pity? Do you know contentment is independent of what you have?  Reach out, like my son, and trust the voice of Truth for your provisions. Hold on tightly for He will set you free.

About brownjackie624
I'm a "Mom on a Mission for Christ" providing food for my family while opening my arms to the poor and needy. I have a passion for equipping others to be on mission with me through freezer cooking tutorials, teaching, speaking and writing. Join a community of women who love sharing the love of God by visiting http://www.momonamission.me

Leave a Reply

