Halloween Head

  

Carissa and I have a mommy and daughter date once a month. We are enjoying tea together. We really do love each other despite what we say!

A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger. Proverbs 15:1

 

I’ve been called many names, but never an orange pumpkin. “Mom, your hair looks like an orange pumpkin,” my endearing ten year-old daughter confessed.

Back in November I decided on a whim to have my black hair highlighted for the first time. It was six months after having a baby, so my hair was growing like wild fire, but I wanted a change. Every new mom wants a new “do” to restore the damage that’s been done after losing a few thousand strands prior to delivery.

It’s been three months since my highlight and the color has definitely faded. I looked at my reflection and secretly agreed with my daughter, but I didn’t want to confess it out loud. Instead, I snapped out loud saying, “That’s not a nice thing to say, you can leave now.”

“You say things like that to me, Mom. You tell me I have a rat’s nest in my hair,” she said.

I allowed my brain to process that statement for a moment as she walked out. During the week, I’ve allowed my heart to mull over what she was saying and it’s aligned with my memory verse for the week, “A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.” Proverbs 15:1

She was right and it took my Halloween looking head (think black and orange stripes) to coax my heart I was wrong. I’ve said harsh words to her about her hair for a long time and she took a moment to share her opinions and I bit her head off. The proverb is correct; it did stir up anger inside of me and I know what I’ve said and done has done the same for her. 

My prayer is to be gentle with my words. I am working on being a positive, encouraging mom and build my daughter and my entire family up. Karol Ladd’s book, The Power of a Positive Mom is encouraging me every day along with God’s Word.

“Father, thank you for my precious daughter and my silly pumpkin head, (which I will now fix) to remind of my harsh words. I pray for kind, gentle, uplifting words to come out of my mouth.”

Take a moment and ask God if you have any iniquity regarding your words in your head and your heart. 1 John 1:9 says, “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will cleanse us of all unrighteousness.”

About brownjackie624
I'm a "Mom on a Mission for Christ" providing food for my family while opening my arms to the poor and needy. I have a passion for equipping others to be on mission with me through freezer cooking tutorials, teaching, speaking and writing. Join a community of women who love sharing the love of God by visiting http://www.momonamission.me

Leave a Reply

