Freezing Bananas and Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Call it banana chocolate chip or chocolate chip banana bread if you like. Either name, I make 2 loaves at a time and freeze one loaf for a future snack or dessert for lunchbox treats. I use the Martha Stewart recipe and I tweak it with my usual King Arthur white whole wheat flour and I add about 1/2 cup mini or regular chocolate chips. I like the mini if I can find them on sale. I typically can find a coupon at the nestle website and then I pair it with a sale (which is 2 for $4). I do not buy my flour online. I buy it at Ingles or Super Wal-Mart for $3.50-$4 for a 5# bag.

Once the bread is completely cooled on a wire cooling rack. I wrap it tightly with plastic wrap and then I either stick it in a gallon size freezer bag (which is reusable) or I wrap it in foil (also reusable). This helps keep out all the moisture and the bread will stay fresh for months. When I am ready to serve, I thaw it for about 4 hours at room temperature and then I proceed to slice. If you need it in less than 4 hours, I recommend going ahead and slicing it and the slices will thaw sooner.

You can also freeze slices in snack size bags for lunch treats and freeze. Place the frozen slices in the lunches the night before or day of packing if you know your child will eat around noon. It may be slightly frozen if lunch is sooner so plan accordingly.

Did you know? Ripe bananas can also be frozen whole for future banana bread? The peel preserves the banana better than a bag. It is recommended to allow the whole bananas to soften for about 2 hours before you mash for banana bread or slice for smoothies. I find this method better than peeling and sticking in a bag because freezer burn is more likely. However, the thawing method is more time-consuming so experiment with it and see which method you like better. Either way, bananas should never be wasted.

Have you ever tried to freeze bananas? What are your experiences?

Martha Stewart’s Banana Bread
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups flour (I substitute 1 cup white whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup unbleached all purpose)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup mashed bananas
1/2 cup sour cream
1 teaspoon vanilla
 
1/2 cup chopped pecans or walnuts or chocolate chips (optional)
 
Directions
 
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream butter, sugar, and eggs. Combine the dry ingredients and add to the butter mixture. Blend well. Add the bananas, sour cream, and vanilla. Stir well. Stir in the nuts if using. Pour into a well greased loaf pan. I spray mine with cooking spray. Bake for 55-60 minutes. Let cool 5 minutes then turn onto a rack to cool. Slice and enjoy!
Related Posts with Thumbnails
 
About brownjackie624
I'm a "Mom on a Mission for Christ" providing food for my family while opening my arms to the poor and needy. I have a passion for equipping others to be on mission with me through freezer cooking tutorials, teaching, speaking and writing. Join a community of women who love sharing the love of God by visiting http://www.momonamission.me

Leave a Reply

