Favorite Granola Recipe-#1

I have two healthy favorite granola recipes I refer to when the urge hits. The first one is made with honey which is a staple pantry item. It also contains canola oil and brown sugar, other staples you probably have on hand too. I started making this recipe just as Crystal does on moneysavingmom.com a few years ago. She refers to it as lazy granola because you bake a for about 10 minutes and then turn off the oven for the night and wake up to yummy, crunchy granola. Sometimes, we can’t wait until night fall to make it and I do it in the morning or the middle of the day and bake it along with something other item in the oven.

The recipe says to warm the ingredients in a saucepan, but I make it even lazier, can you believe it? I leave off that step and just mix it all up together very well and then bake it until I think it looks crisp or lightly toasted. You can leave it in the oven with it turned off or you can take it out and let it set at room temperature for a while. It will crisp up as it cools. We like to add cranberries and walnuts AFTER it’s baked because the kids like it plain. It would be better with the nuts toasted if everyone liked nuts. Also, when I omit the nuts, the kids can take it to school as a snack so the parents add it to the granola later. We serve it with milk and eat it like a breakfast cereal. The girls like it layered between yogurt and frozen/fresh fruit; a great parfait treat. It’s good on top of ice-cream or as a topping for fruit crisp. You will enjoy this EASY recipe. It’s a sweet crunchy topping for a salad.

It can be bagged in a long cylinder cellophane bag and tied with a grosgrain ribbon for a pretty holiday gift. Add walnuts, sliced almonds, peanuts, pecans, cranberries, raisins, chocolate chips, m and m’s, pretzels, goldfish or virtually any “snacky” item and make it into a trail mix. It’s so versatile and yummy and pretty.

Last tip: I buy my honey at Sams or Aldi for a great price or wait until it is Buy One Get One Free at Ingles. Aldi also has a great buy on old-fashioned oats.

 Crystal’s Lazy Granola

1/2 cup brown sugar

  • 1/2 cup oil (I use Canola)
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 7 cups oats (I use old-fashioned, NOT quick cooking)
  1. Mix brown sugar, oil, and honey in a small saucepan.  Bring to a low boil.
  2. Remove from heat.  Stir in cinnamon and vanilla.
  3. Pour over oats in a large bowl.  Stir until well coated.
  4. Spread oats in a 9×13 pan.  Bake at 375° for 10 minutes.
  5. Take out and stir.
  6. Return pan to oven.  Turn oven off.
  7. Go to bed.    Wake up to a delicious, cinnamon-y sent wafting through your kitchen!

 Crystals Lazy Granola

Remember I make it LAZIER by mixing it all together very well and then toast it in the oven. Enjoy the cinnamon smell which is especially nice during the holidays! Add a little more if you like. Are you tempted to make this yet?

About brownjackie624
I'm a "Mom on a Mission for Christ" providing food for my family while opening my arms to the poor and needy. I have a passion for equipping others to be on mission with me through freezer cooking tutorials, teaching, speaking and writing. Join a community of women who love sharing the love of God by visiting http://www.momonamission.me

Leave a Reply

