Got Leftover Sweet Potatoes?

 

Make sweet potato pound cake with leftover sweet potatoes. If you have some leftover casserole or extra sweet potatoes lying around, try this recipe out. If you use leftover casserole with sugar in it, I would omit about 1/2 cup from the recipe and you may already have some pecans in the casserole which would be even better.

Or maybe you’re like me and you over buy when they are on sale and you’re not quite sure what to do with so many potatoes. Bake them like you normally would and peel the skin when they have cooled. Mash them in a quart size bag and freeze until you are ready to make this delicious sneaky baking recipe. The family may never know this dessert is made with a super food unless you tell them. SHHHHH!

I found the flavors to be better the next day. I’ve decided a lot of foods taste better the next day.  I’m sure you could substitute pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon and nutmeg. I was out of nutmeg and I left it out because I was not sure how it would taste. When I tasted it without the nutmeg, I immediately thought of pumpkin bread so that’s why I would suggest the pumpkin pie spice if you didn’t have nutmeg.

I adapted this recipe from a Country Living magazine that was recycled to me and I clipped it thinking this would work for my Thanksgiving leftovers, but I made it before then.

The picture is one of the two loaves the recipe yielded, prepared for the freezer. I allow the cakes to thoroughly cool on a cooling rack (about 4 hours) and then I wrap it in plastic wrap and stick it into a gallon size bag with the air squeezed out. This method further protects it from freezer burn and I can reuse the gallon bag for future breads.

Sweet Potato Pound Cake

Nonstick spray with flour

3 cups flour, I used 1 1/2 cups King white whole wheat and 1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose or you could use 3 cups Eagle Mills flour (which is a combo of  white wheat and white flour)

2 tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp ground nutmeg

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

1 1/2 cups granulated sugar

1/2 cup packed light brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups leftover mashed sweet potatoes (I think this amount is forgiving going either under or over)

4 eggs, room temperature

3/4 cup chopped pecans, optional (I left out because my kids go to nut free school)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325. Grease two 9-inch loaf pans with baking spray. In a medium bowl, add next six ingredients and sift with a whisk or fork.

In a large mixing bowl, cream butter, sugars, and vanilla until light and fluffy. Blend in sweet potatoes, then eggs, one at a time. With mixer on low, add flour mixture in thirds, combine just enough to blend.

Spoon batter evenly into prepared pans. Sprinkle pecans over batter if desired. Bake until cakes test clean when a skewer or toothpick is inserted into center. 70 to 80 minutes. Mine took 80 minutes so set your timer. Cool on a wire rack for 20 minutes. Remove cakes from pans and cool completely on wire rack. Cool for about 4 hours before freezer preparation. It can be thawed for 24 hours at room temperature and served with cool whip or plain if desired. Don’t forget about portioning slices into snack size bags for lunch treats. They can be frozen and thawed the day the lunch is packed.

About brownjackie624
I'm a "Mom on a Mission for Christ" providing food for my family while opening my arms to the poor and needy. I have a passion for equipping others to be on mission with me through freezer cooking tutorials, teaching, speaking and writing. Join a community of women who love sharing the love of God by visiting http://www.momonamission.me

Leave a Reply

