Not Everything Has To Be Thawed

I made a quick change in my meal plan and decided to make spaghetti and meatballs on a different day. However, the sauce was in the freezer. Around noon, I open three quart bags of frozen sauce with kitchen shears. I cut the zipper off and cut straight down the middle to open it easily and dump it right into mycrock pot. The temperature will be on high for six hours until it’s hot. I will add my freezer meatballs around 3 o’clock and the sauce should be softer by then. I’ll give it a stir to push it down and add those meatballs to warm with the sauce and serve dinner by 5:30 or 6:00.

Sauces, soups and broths can be heated from a frozen state, although it does reheat faster if it’s been thawed for 24 hours. I find the crock pot to be an essential cooking tool for freezer cooking.

Did you know you can freeze leftover cooked pasta. I’ll make 2 pounds of spaghetti and once I make enough leftovers for tomorrow, the rest will go in a quart size bag to be frozen. This will need to be thawed when I reheat it in the microwave for another day or I can throw it into a pot of boiling water to soften and heat, but not cook.

Have you ever done this?

About brownjackie624
I'm a "Mom on a Mission for Christ" providing food for my family while opening my arms to the poor and needy. I have a passion for equipping others to be on mission with me through freezer cooking tutorials, teaching, speaking and writing. Join a community of women who love sharing the love of God by visiting http://www.momonamission.me

One Response to Not Everything Has To Be Thawed

  1. Pingback: Tips for the forgetful cook-like me « Mom on a Mission

Leave a Reply

