Thawing foods in a shoebox

Thawing bags of food can be tricky because moisture is developing as they thaw. I’ve tried to thaw quart size bags on a plate before, but it takes up a lot of space in the fridge and the corners will drip onto the shelves. Have you ever had this problem?

The answer is to use 5 or 6 quart plastic shoebox (dollar store kind) in your fridge. I keep one handy in my cabinet for thawing purposes.  My current box holds 3 bags of fajita chicken http://wp.me/pSkmM-22 in marinade. I started thawing this out two days ago for dinner on Thursday. Since I had over six pounds of chicken, it needed a good 2 day thaw. The box fits nicely in between shelves.

Guess what? The box catches all the condensation as it is thawing. When I’m ready to grill, I can use the box to transport the chicken and then I wash it in hot soapy water for the next thawing.

If  you forgot to thaw your food in the fridge and you need a quick thaw (2 hours or less), you can immerse your frozen bags in cold water for a while. Don’t leave it in the water all day, especially if it’s meat, this is unsafe thawing. 

I typically thaw soups, meat, poultry, sauces and broths in my box. What could you thaw in your box?

About brownjackie624
I'm a "Mom on a Mission for Christ" providing food for my family while opening my arms to the poor and needy. I have a passion for equipping others to be on mission with me through freezer cooking tutorials, teaching, speaking and writing. Join a community of women who love sharing the love of God by visiting http://www.momonamission.me

Leave a Reply

