Cheesy Potato Skins

0305011213.jpg

If you make twice baked potatoes, you get a bonus side dish-potato skins. Once you slice off 1/2″ off the top of each potato, you’re left with a bunch of skins. When I made my twice baked potatoes,  I had 24 skins to be exact. I separated mine into 2 stacks of twelve to freeze. Because they’re baked and cooled, they freeze wonderful. I throw mine in a quart size bag and squeeze as much air out as possible. These can thaw overnight, or if you’re in a pinch, they can thaw in an hour in a bowl of cold water.

I take my skins and brush them with canola or olive oil on BOTH sides. You can be generous or sparing. I chose sparing since I’m going a little on the indulgent side today. I learned this trick from Pioneer Woman. I’m giving credit where credit is due. I broil BOTH sides of the potato until lightly toasted. Watch them closely. Once they’re toasted how you like, top them with cheddar cheese, real bacon bits ( I cooked 3 strips in the microwave), and chives or sliced green onions. Be as generous as you like. Dip these skins in a little ranch, ketchup or sour cream.

0305011215a.jpg

Aren’t you glad you took my advice and didn’t throw away your skins? Now go make twice baked potatoes just so you can have the leftover skins. Or bake some potatoes and slice them lengthwise into 1/2″ slices and purposely freeze for these delightful appetizers.

I’m imagining more possibilities as I type. Top with diced convenience chicken, or cooked taco meat  and lettuce and tomato for a main dish item. Invite someone over and impress them with your freezer side dish. What topping ideas do you have?

This recipe is linked to Tasty Tuesday

About brownjackie624
I'm a "Mom on a Mission for Christ" providing food for my family while opening my arms to the poor and needy. I have a passion for equipping others to be on mission with me through freezer cooking tutorials, teaching, speaking and writing. Join a community of women who love sharing the love of God by visiting http://www.momonamission.me

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

