Italian Sticky Chicken

Have you ever heard of faux rotisserie chicken? No? Neither have I. I just made that term up. You can make this easy rotisserie chicken without having a grill, rostisserie or convection oven. It’s perfect for the winter and you can freeze the leftovers for another meal. Let’s get started.

Here’s the unique part. You begin by rolling up 4-5 balls of foil and place them in the bottom of your crock pot. This is going to raise your chicken and keep it from sitting in it’s own fat and ultimately give you a rotisserie chicken.

0131010736.jpg

I remove the giblet package and rinse my chicken in cold water, including the cavity. My secret is to loosen the skin on top of the breast with my fingers, being careful not to tear it. This is where I’m going place 2 cloves of minced garlic-between the skin and the meat. I shake off excess water and lay the chicken, breast side up on top of the foil. I generously pour olive oil on top of the chicken and season with kosher salt, freshly ground pepper and Italian Seasoning. Then I cover and set the timer on high 4-6 hours. I would make a note of your cooking time on your printed recipe if it tends to be on the drier side. My crock pot gets extremely hot quickly so I’m going to adjust my timer next time and/or use a thermometer to test for doneness.

We served our chicken with mashed sweet potatoes and Artisan bread (bake these together to save time and money) and green beans.

Printable recipe Crockpot Rotisserie Chicken

I’m using the leftover chicken for chicken flatbread pizza. I’m going to show you how to make homemade chicken broth with the leftover skin and a few veggies in a future post.

Let us know if you make this recipe and try varying your seasonings. Others would love to hear your ideas.

This recipe is linked to Crockpot recipes

About brownjackie624
I'm a "Mom on a Mission for Christ" providing food for my family while opening my arms to the poor and needy. I have a passion for equipping others to be on mission with me through freezer cooking tutorials, teaching, speaking and writing. Join a community of women who love sharing the love of God by visiting http://www.momonamission.me

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

